City Council & City Secretary

June 1, 2017 THANK YOU EAST TAWAKONI CITIZENS for your past & forthcoming confidence for the next 2 years. As your Mayor and Members of the City Council, you have our assurance we will continue doing what is best for your city.




Mayor Johnnie LaPrade

Johnniedean “Johnnie” LaPrade

eMail the Mayor at:

Mayor LaPrade was born and raised in Dallas, living in Mesquite area for 18 years. She then moved to East Tawakoni in December, 1983. LaPrade married high school sweetheart, has 2 daughters, 5 grandchildren and 3 great granddaughters. She retired in July, 2003 from Madix Store Fixtures in Terrell after 18 years of service as the Customer Service Assistant Manager and PPI Supervisor of Planning, Production, Inventory, Control.

  • Mayor 2011 until 2019
  • Mayor Pro Tem May, 2008 – August, 2011
  • 3 years as a city councilwoman
  • 4 years Economic Development Corporation
  • 10 years – Spirit of East Tawakoni,
  • Represents the city as a member of the East Texas Council of Government (ETCOG)
  • Previously served as the Rains County Chamber Executive Board of Directors as Vice President. Now serving as City Ambassador.
  • Now serving on the Rains County Historical Commission until 2020.
  • 2012 served on the Rains County Re-districting Committee
  • Previously serve on the East Texas Council of Government Board of Directors, Executive Committee representing Rains County.

** Quote from Mayor LaPrade, ” I look forward to working with the City Council and other city boards in serving The City of East Tawakoni. I believe we have a unique group of citizens who has the determination to make East Tawakoni the best it can be. ”

CITY COUNCIL as of May 16, 2017 


PLACE 1Councilman David Rose
David Rose

Bio Notes for David Rose coming soon. Check back again.



Gary Reeves

After 46 years with the Garland Independent School District, Dr. Gary Reeves ,celebrated his retirement Thursday, April 25, 2015 at the Atrium in downtown Garland. Reeves began his career in the Dallas Councilman Gary ReevesIndependent School District as a teacher and coach. A few years later, he joined GISD as a teacher and coach at Garland High School making a difference in many young lives. Through the years, he served as an assistant principal as well as an elementary and high school level principal. In the 1980s, Reeves became GISD’s assistant superintendent of administration. He also served as GISD’s interim superintendent. The board’s trust, confidence and respect for Reeves were reflected in a statement made when he was appointed to that position. During his career, Reeves was the recipient of numerous awards and served as president of several associations. Additionally, he was inducted into the Kilgore College and Garland Sports Halls of Fame.

Gary is married with two children and 5 grandchildren. He & his wife have owned property in East Tawakoni since 1993 and have been full time residence since 2005. Reeves is serving his 4th term through 2019 on the ET City Council, a Director on the ET Economic Development Corporation, previously serving as President. Gary has also served on the Board for The Rains County Appraisal District.

Chris Roberts

Chris was born in Waco, Texas and grew up in Dallas. He was a proud member of theChris Roberts Boy Scouts of America for many years and attended the University of Texas at Dallas. Chris completed his degree in Geoscience on May 17, 1986. He was employed by Atec engineering and Ebasco environmental, using his scientific skills in both environmental impact studies and ground penetrating radar work. Currently, Chris is the owner and operator of CDT, Inc., a commercial maintainance and commercial laundry equipment installation company. He has no children and has owned a home in East Tawakoni since 2004. Chris is serving his 2nd term through 2019 on the ET City Council.

Pam Patterson, Mayor Pro-Tem

Pam was born and raised in Beaumont, TX. She lived in Carrollton, TX working for a large printing company for 10 years. Pam and husband bought their home in East Tawakoni in 1998 as a weekend home and made it their Councilperson Pam Pattersonpermanent home in 2004. She also lived overseas with husband while working out of country. Pam and her husband have 2 children and 2 granddaughters. Pam has served 3 1/2 terms on City Council and will continue to serve until 2019. Also has served on the Economic Development Corp., member of The Spirit of East Tawakoni and previously a member of the Rains County Chamber Board of Directors. Pam also serves on the Rains County Historical Commission. At any given time you might find her at city hall or the police dept helping out, wherever she can.


Lynn WallaceCouncilman Lynn Wallace

Lynn is a retired truck mechanic. He and wife, Jean, moved to East Tawakoni in April, 1991. He has 4 children, 6 grandchildren and 2 great grandchildren. He served on EDC Committee for 1 term and on City Council from 2004 – 2015. He is now serving City Council 2017-2019.


photo of City Secretary

Elinka Harper



eMail City Hall at:

288 Briggs Blvd.
East Tawakoni, TX 75472
Phone: 903-447-2444
Fax: 903-447-5080